Riding the Rails

scroll

You’ve never heard of a choose your own adventure story quite like this—where personal and professional passions are combined to create a whole new way to explore the outdoors. Smartwool presents Riding the Rails, a short film about one man’s drive, his family’s love for the outdoors, and how their railroad-ready bikes allow them to access the most secluded wild places in the Northeastern United States.

Exploring the unexplored.

Alex has spent many of his adult years seeing the world and how people have pushed the limits of biking. And what he discovered was a brand-new way to ride. To get outside. And to experience nature first-hand. Now, Alex and his family have adapted their bikes to ride railroad tracks.

Alex’s passion for craftsmanship and the outdoors come together to allow him, his wife, and their dog to access the most remote fishing, camping, and biking locations in Vermont and beyond—creating new opportunities for family-friendly, human-powered adventure.

TODO
TODO

"I hope that we can inspire others to follow through on their dreams because the memories and experiences are worth so much."

Behind the camera.

Evan Kay is an accomplished outdoor adventure videographer and photographer who has travelled the world documenting people and telling thought-provoking stories. As a devoted adventurer, Evan can be found on pre-dawn skinning sessions, weekend mountain traverses, or riding singletrack on his mountain bike. Evan’s ease in all things adventure can be felt in his film work: the carefully framed figures living life outdoors are filled with a visual respect, the fraternity of mountain life. He currently resides in Vermont with his wife Jordana and their trail-loving pup Gobi.

TODO

*Spend $49 or more on Smartwool.ca and receive one pair of Holiday Ugly Sweater Socks, a $32 value. Offer valid from Nov 24, 2022 until supplies last.
Can not be combined with other promotions.

Riding the Rails

scroll

Voici une « aventure dont vous êtes le héros » totalement inédite, un récit où la symbiose entre passions personnelles et professionnelles réinvente la façon d’explorer la nature. Smartwool présente Riding the Rails, un court-métrage racontant le périple d’un homme, l’amour de sa famille pour la nature, et comment des vélos pour sentiers ferroviaires leur ont permis d’atteindre les endroits les plus isolés du nord-est des États-Unis.

Explorer l’inexploré.

Alex a passé une grande partie de sa vie adulte à parcourir le monde et à rencontrer ceux qui ont repoussé les limites du cyclisme. Il a découvert une toute nouvelle façon de rouler. De jouer dehors. De faire un avec la nature. Aujourd’hui, Alex et sa famille ont adapté leurs vélos aux voies ferrées désaffectées.

Grâce à ses grandes habiletés techniques et à sa passion pour le plein air, il a pu, en compagnie de son épouse et de leur chien, atteindre les lieux de pêche, de camping et de cyclisme les plus reculés du Vermont ou d’ailleurs, des endroits qui ont donné lieu à de nouvelles aventures en famille. Des aventures à propulsion humaine.

TODO
TODO

"J’espère pouvoir inspirer d’autres personnes à réaliser leurs rêves, car les expériences et les souvenirs qu’on en retire n’ont pas de prix. "

Derrière la caméra.

Evan Kay est un brillant vidéaste et photographe de plein air ayant voyagé partout dans le monde pour observer les gens et raconter des histoires qui portent à réfléchir. Ce féru d’aventures peut être aperçu en train de dépouiller un animal avant l’aube, de traverser des montagnes la fin de semaine ou de dévaler une piste étroite sur son vélo de montagne. Son aisance dans tout ce qui touche à l’aventure se ressent dans ses films : captant avec soin ses sujets vivant en pleine nature, il tourne des images empreintes de respect qui témoignent de son penchant pour la vie en montagne. Il vit actuellement au Vermont avec sa femme Jordana et Gobi, leur chien randonneur.

TODO

*Dépensez 49 $ et plus sur Smartwool.ca et obtenez une paire de chaussettes Ugly Sweater des fêtes. Une valeur de 32 $. Offre valide du 24 novembre 2022 jusqu’à épuisement des stocks.
Ne peut pas être jumelée à aucune autre offre.